Waka by JM

Hello, friends and followers! Using the research I posted Friday and an explanation of modern English waka found at http://kujakupoet.blogspot.com/2006/05/waka-example-modern.html, I have written some waka poems of my own. Please note that I deviate from the 31 syllable structure, for as Chesapeake Bay poet M. Kei explains, single words use many syllables in Japanese, and punctuation is also counted; therefore, simplicity is key. Here are my attempts at my own waka:

1.
fingers raw
and bleeding
from the grit
of holding on
to time

2.
unwelcome assistance
forces through doors
persistent
insistent
resist it

3.
children race
and fly away
untethered
they laugh
as they soar

– JM

Leave a Reply

