Metamorphosis

People say that all this pain
is more than worth it,
but right now
it just feels like pain.
I am afraid of the aches,
those shooting reminders of
a life within a life.
I don’t want to see
the sadness
that grows in me
a heavy heart atop
innocence.
I am afraid of the time
ticking by,
one-two-three-four-five-six-seven-eight-nine.
I am afraid and alone,
and never alone,
Anymore.

Notes

With this piece, I pay tribute to Mariela Griffor by visiting her frequent theme of motherhood. (See Griffor’s poem “The Psychiatrist”). As I am not a mother and I have not experienced pregnancy, I attempted to understand the emotions elicited by reading first-hand reports from http://www.pregnancystories.net.

The free-verse, single stanza formatting is meant to mimic that of Griffor’s “Child’s Eyes.” I hope you enjoy!

JM

Image from https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Eo8_I9a4nSs/maxresdefault.jpg

Leave a Reply

